Uncategorized

Fiber Christmas in July

The funny thing about time is how fast it can get away from you. I realized today that it has been a while since I have posted. Almost a year. Amazing what all can happen in such a small amount of time. The biggest thing that happened is that our family status has changed a bit. We decided to celebrate the new year by getting married at midnight.

In July, I got to go to the Oklahoma Fiber Christmas in July. I took some muggle friends of mine on the trip. I have been meaning to blog about it for *ahem* 7 months now. I picked up several lovelies while I was there. I went to the event several years ago and was very excited for the opportunity to go again this year. There were so many wonderful vendors.

I had a plan going in. I was going to make a lap through the whole building before I made any purchases, I wanted to find a new drop spindle, and I was going after fiber only, not yarn. After the first few booths, there was a lady who had a SpinOlution wheel. I was ecstatic since I have been drooling over them online for years. I got to ask some questions and try one out. I realized that as much as I would love to have a sturdy full sized wheel, I am not at a point in my life that I can have one that isn’t portable. I hope to have a space some day that a wheel can have a permanent spot but right now I have 3 kids and a 3 bedroom house. She let me try out a King Bee. It was love at first sight. Even more so after I spun on it. I very much appreciate greentarafarm.com for allowing me to play around on it for a bit. When it comes time to make that purchase, it will be from her. I did pick up a super lovely pair of alpaca socks at the next booth because I couldn’t make myself put them down.

I turned the corner and there it was. I didn’t know what I was looking for in a drop spindle, but I hoped that would find the right one. It was staring me right in the face. It is a beautiful spindle with a Tardis on the top! It was fate. I did manage to only buy the spindle from that vendor. There was so many gorgeous batts and it was so difficult. I thought I was going to go back and if I hadn’t had people analyzing my fiber purchases, I would have done it. I did make it through most of the rest of the booths before I made any other purchases. I found one that had somewonderful soap. That was obviously a need.

After more browsing, I walked into apothefaery’s booth and couldn’t say no to a beautiful batt and some dyes that I have been wanting to try. It was another time that I could have spent way more there than what I did, but I managed to hold out because there were still booths to hit.

I was almost through all of the booths when a pretty little bit of roving caught my eye and then a sock blank. I know that I wasn’t going to buy yarn but it was the only yarn that I purchased. Right around the corner was the vendor I was hoping would be there. I was very excited to walk in and see Dawn with all of her pretty batts. I might have gone nuts. So nuts. I couldn’t make decisions and I have loved her fiber in the past. I was not at all disappointed by my purchases there.

It was a great fiber acquisition trip with twowonderful ladies. We had such a wonderful time, even if they don’t quite understand the draw of knitting and spinning. I may not have made two new knitters or spinners out of the trip, but they do have a deeper appreciation for my art and that is all I can really ask for.

Leave a comment